Date Numerology


Enter Date Of Birth
Name Numerology
Compound No.:
Your Name No.:

Planets - Mercury - Pundit Speaks
Recommend this Article




A horoscope is a snapshot of the juxtaposition of the planets on the day, time and place that a native is born. In vedic astrology, the position of the planet is of great importance. The strength of the planet is determined by its placement. There are nine planets or navagrahas in vedic astrology. This comprises the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. The last two are shadow planets.

In this section, astropundit will release a series of articles on vedic astrology. The first series being on NAVAGRAHAS or the NINE PLANETS which are significant in vedic astrology. We will periodically release articles on subjects of interest in vedic astrology.


Mercury is the closest planet and very fast moving. It takes about 88 days to complete one revolution around the Sun. Mercury is very close to the Sun most of the time, and very often retrograde in motion.

In vedic astrology, Mercury is considered neutral and will be malefic or benefic according to his association with planets and the sign that he occupies. Mercury signifies intellect and youth. Mercury rules speech and writing. Most people with well placed Mercury will be quick thinking, intellectual and very articulate.

Mercury rules the two zodiac signs Gemini (Mithuna) and Virgo (Kanya). Mercury is exalted in Virgo and debilitated in Pisces. He is also the lord of Aslesha, Jyeshta and Revati stars. The gem stone associated with Mercury is Emerald and the metal is brass. The colour associated with Mercury is green.

Other Planets : Sun | Moon | Mars | Jupiter | Saturn | Venus | Rahu & Ketu
Recommend this Article