Date Numerology


Enter Date Of Birth
Name Numerology
Compound No.:
Your Name No.:

Planets - Sun - Pundit Speaks
Recommend this Article




A horoscope is a snapshot of the juxtaposition of the planets on the day, time and place that a native is born. In vedic astrology, the position of the planet is of great importance. The strength of the planet is determined by its placement. There are nine planets or navagrahas in vedic astrology. This comprises the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. The last two are shadow planets.

In this section, astropundit will release a series of articles on vedic astrology. The first series being on NAVAGRAHAS or the NINE PLANETS which are significant in vedic astrology. We will periodically release articles on subjects of interest in vedic astrology.


Sun is the royal planet, which signifies health and physique. It also signifies the self. Sun represents the male and father principle. In vedic astrology, he is a natural malefic and hence cruel, but also auspicious. Sun is a sattvic planet.

Sun rules the zodiac sign Leo and is powerful in Aries and Leo. He is the lord of Krittika, Uttara Phalguni and Uttara Ashada stars. A well placed Sun can give power of will, intellect, brilliance, prosperity, success, wealth, good fortune, wisdom, ambition and fame. The gem stone related to the Sun is Ruby, and the metal Gold. The colour associated with Sun is Orange.

Sun is debilitated in Libra while he is exalted in Aries. He is friendly to the Moon, Mars and Jupiter while he is neutral to Mercury. He is inimical to Rahu, Ketu, Venus and Saturn.

Sun takes approximately one year to complete one revolution in the zodiac, which means it stays in one sign for approximately one month. The transit of the Sun into a zodiac sign is an important event.

Other Planets : Moon | Mercury | Jupiter | Mars | Saturn | Venus | Rahu & Ketu
Recommend this Article